2010 Archibald Prize




About the exhibition

The Art Gallery of NSW Archibald Prize for portraiture is one of Australia's oldest and most prestigious art awards. 

Since its inception in 1921 the prize has been awarded to some of Australia's most important artists. 

The 2010 winner was Sam Leach with his portrait of Tim Minchin, which also won the 2010 Wynne Prize. Other artists featured in the exhibition were Giles Alexander, Martin Ball, Kate Beynon, Kevin Connor, Adam Cullen, Rodney Pople and Nick Stathopoulos.

Total Attendance: 6862


  • Opening event and floor talk with Sam Leach.
  • Programs for all ages including portraiture workshops, exhibition tours and artist talks