Albury Art Prize 2012




About the exhibition

The Albury Art Prize is one of New South Wales' oldest municipal art awards. Past winners include Noel Counihan, Fred Cress, Robert Jacks, Louis Kahan, Deborah Klein, Daniel Moynihan and Imants Tiller.

In 2012 the Albury Art Prize offered $20,000 for an international residency, attracting entrants from across Australia. The shortlisted finalists were Sue Beyer, Penny Byrne, Berenice Carrington, Veronica Caven Aldous, Bronwyn Cossor, Dagmar Cyrulla, Raimond de Weerdt, Carita Henriksson-Bathman, Deborah Kelly, Bronek Kozka, Rita Lazauskas, Marco Luccio, Christopher Newman, Patrick and Shannon Ronald, Sam Shmith and Tim Silver.

The winner was Deborah Kelly for her sophisticated photomontage. Deborah used the prizemoney to travel to New York, where she studied with her mentor Martha Rosler, and Berlin, where she researched anti-Nazi photomontage of the 1930s. Her solo exhibition will be launched at the redeveloped Albury Regional Art Gallery in 2015. 

Tim Silver and Berenice Carrington received Highly Commended awards sponsored by the Friends of the Gallery.

Total Attendance: 2500


Official opening and talk by prize judge Dr Gene Sherman; and '3 Artists, 3 Visions' artist talk program.