Select Amount

National Photography Prize 2024


Nathan Beard,
King Mongkut (1956)
, 2022,
Dibond mounted Giclée print on Hahnemühle Fine Art Pearl, Swarovski Elements each named using the antiquated term ‘Siam’, Avery 3002 Blockout Vinyl Matt Laminate. 120 x 100cm.
Image by Jack Ball. Courtesy of the artist and sweet pea, Perth.

Established in 1983, and now in its 40th year the biennial acquisitive prize offers a unique opportunity to consider the vital role of photography in contemporary art in Australia. The Prize brings together artists from across the nation who are pushing the boundaries of photographic practice, expanding and developing existing languages and techniques.

Selected by an expert panel comprising Bala Starr, Director, La Trobe Art Institute, Bendigo, Tiyan Baker, 2022 National Photography Prize Winner, and Nanette Orly, Curator, Murray Art Museum Albury.

The finalists’ works traverse numerous themes and concepts including the environment and its degradation, family histories and connection to place, as well as spanning diverse photographic practices from large-scale installations, collages and assemblages, archival and chemical, to more intimate moments.

The 2024 National Photography Prize finalists include leading Australian artists and collectives Alex Walker & Daniel O’Toole, Ali McCann, Ali Tahayori, Ellen Dahl, Ioulia Panoutsopoulos, Izabela Pluta, Kai Wasikowski, Nathan Beard, Olga Svyatova, Rebecca McCauley & Aaron Claringbold, Sammy Hawker, and Skye Wagner.

Related Events