Select Amount

Opening: National Photography Prize 2024

1_Ali_McCann_The_Democratic Voice_2022

Ali McCann,
The Democratic Voice, 2022,
archival pigment print.
Courtesy of the artist.

Join us in celebrating the opening of the biennial National Photography Prize, with judge Nici Cumpston OAM. We will reflect on the contributions of the 14 shortlisted artists, and announce the recipient of the $30,000 acquisitive prize, and the $5000 John & Margaret Baker Memorial Award for an emerging artist.

The finalists’ works traverse numerous themes and concepts including the environment and its degradation, family histories and connection to place, as well as spanning diverse photographic practices from large-scale installations, collages and assemblages, archival and chemical, to more intimate moments.

The 2024 National Photography Prize finalists include leading Australian artists and collectives Alex Walker & Daniel O’TooleAli McCannAli TahayoriEllen DahlIoulia PanoutsopoulosIzabela PlutaKai WasikowskiNathan BeardOlga SvyatovaRebecca McCauley & Aaron ClaringboldSammy Hawker, and Skye Wagner.

Bar will be open post announcement from 4.00pm – 6.00pm, cash + eftpos available.