Select Amount

National Photography Prize 2024 Writers Program

The National Photography Prize 2024 Writers Program invited writers Elise Harmsen, Liz McCrystal, Annette An-Jen Liu and Jake Treacy to publish experimental written responses based on the themes: Archive, Illusion, Process and Terrain.

The published works were shaped by real-time conversations had between the artists and writers of the National Photography Prize 2024.



Recto/Verso by Elise Harmsen
Sammy Hawker, Olga Svyatova, and Nathan Beard


Illusion by Liz McCrystal
Izabela Pluta, Ali McCann, and Skye Wagner

A curved reflective sculpture against a white wall projected with blue, white and red light


On Process by Annette An-Jen Liu
Ali Tahayori, Alex Walker and Daniel O’Toole, and Ioulia Panoutsopoulos


(Re)Cruising Utopia: One person’s heaven is another’s hell, and other places I’ve found the devil by Jake Treacy
Kai Wasikowski, Rebecca McCauley and Aaron Claringbold, and Ellen Dahl